The Doctoral School Council 

The Doctoral School Council comprises 26 members, in accordance with the equilibriums established by Article 9 of the Order of 25 May 2016. The Director convokes and presides over Council meetings. The doctoral school also includes a Bureau, a Board of Directors and a Thesis Committee made up of disciplinary sub-committees. At each site, the doctoral school is provided with its own Site Committee. 

The Doctoral School Council comprises: 

  • 14 representatives of the research institutions, research units or research teams.
  • 2 representatives of the engineering, administrative or technical staff.
  • 5 members from outside the doctoral school, chosen from among qualified figures active within the same scientific fields and socio-economic sectors as the doctoral school.
  • 5 PhD students, elected from among and by the doctoral school’s registered student body. These elected PhD students are able to take part in the doctoral school’s decision-making process, defend the interests of their fellow doctoral students and serve as a bridge between the doctoral school directorate and the student body.

The doctoral school is overseen by a Director, responsible for implementing the school’s action programme. The Site Assistant Directors assist the Director at each of the doctoral school sites. The doctoral school is endowed with a Doctoral School Council as provided for by French legislation, a Bureau and additional committees overseeing everyday local management tasks. 

The Doctoral School Bureau

The Doctoral School Bureau comprises the Director and Assistant Directors. The bureau members gather together as often as necessary to prepare and implement the doctoral school’s action programme and to organize the Doctoral School Council meetings.

PhD student representatives

PhD student representatives can take part in the decision-making process at their doctoral school, defend the interests of their fellow students, and serve as a bridge between the directorate and the PhD student body

Internal rules and procedures

The doctoral school is provided with its own internal rules and procedures specifying: 

  • The doctoral school’s organization and governance.
  • First-year registration procedures, for PhD students without direct funding, funded by a doctoral contract, or under joint supervision.
  • Re-registration procedures for each academic year.
  • The ratio of supervisors to doctoral students.
  • Means and methods for the PhD students’ disciplinary, trans-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary training.
  • Exemptions/exceptions concerning PhD students’ obligatory training hours and credits.
  • Thesis defence procedures.
  • Post-thesis monitoring.
  • Mediation procedures. 

Council meetings

The Doctoral School Council meets at least twice yearly, convened by the Doctoral School Director, who sets the meetings’ agendas in collaboration with the Assistant Directors. The Director presides over the council meetings. After each meeting, a meeting summary is drafted and approved by all participants; this report is then distributed to all council members, the heads of accredited and associated institutions and the heads of attached research units, as well as being published on the doctoral school website and thereby made accessible to the general public. 

Other governing bodies

The Director can propose to the Doctoral School Council the creation of site committees or other committees to ensure everyday local management tasks. In this manner, the MathSTIC Doctoral School has provided itself with a Thesis Committee, as well as Site Committees. 

Thesis Committee

The doctoral school is endowed with a Thesis Committee. The Committee comprises researchers and teacher-researchers with HDR accreditation to direct research, representing the various fields and specializations of the doctoral school’s laboratories. Members are named by the Doctoral School Council, upon the recommendation of the Doctoral School Director. 
Presided over by the Doctoral School Director, the Thesis Committee is in charge of examining registration applications and thesis defence requests. The Committee can also be called upon by the Director or Site Assistant Directors to assess delicate reregistration situations.